Any Excuse For Birding: Back in Oaks Bottom

A couple of weeks ago, I needed to take my car in for routine maintenance. When they told me there was a wait time of 90+ minutes, I said that was no problem and asked that they just call me when my car was ready. Lucky for me, my auto shop of choice is not too terribly far from Oaks Bottom, and I was prepared with my camera for just this possibility. Needless to say, I was not at all disappointed with the need to “kill some time” by going birding.

When out birding, I can make a walking a mile take forever; in a  short window of only about 90 minutes, I was only about to do about half of the trail running through the wildlife reserve. There was still plenty to see; here is a selection of some of my favorite images from the day.

Right near where the Bluff Trail forks, there was a great gathering of small birds. Song sparrows and Bewick’s wren hopped through the low foliage.

20141212-DSC_0003

A couple of brown creepers worked their way up the tree trunks searching out insects.

20141212-DSC_0004

A male lesser goldfinch watched me from above.

20141212-DSC_0008

A pair of downy woodpeckers moved from branch to branch looking for a meal.

20141212-DSC_0010 20141212-DSC_0036

Not high above the ground, a black-capped chickadee performed some acrobatics, hanging precariously from the bark of a tree.

20141212-DSC_0012

Amid some dry, brown leaves, a spotted towhee hopped along a mossy log.

20141212-DSC_0019

A golden-crowned kinglet did some stunts of its own, long slender legs letting it hang from all angels as it flit from place to place.

20141212-DSC_0034

Its cousin, the ruby-crowned kinglet, was also nearby.

20141212-DSC_0043

Down where the water of the lake  came up near the path, several duck species were intermingling. A pair of American wigeons posed nicely for some portraits.

20141212-DSC_0068 20141212-DSC_0074

A green-winged teal male splashed around, drawing attention to itself.

20141212-DSC_0076

An immature male Anna’s hummingbird landed overhead, appearing unimpressed with the duck’s display.

20141212-DSC_0101

If you want to learn more about Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge, be sure to visit the website: http://www.portlandoregon.gov/

For more images from my birding excursions, be sure to visit my Flickr site. Comments are always welcome!

2 thoughts on “Any Excuse For Birding: Back in Oaks Bottom

    • Thanks Sheila! I thought it was a great way to spend the time, too. Weekend has been full of yard-based bird watching and now football. 🙂 Hope you are having a good one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

